The Histories of Powassan
Formally founded in January of 1905, the town of Powassan is a small gem in Northern Ontario.
The earliest of records date the village of Powassan being settled in the late-1870s, with the creation of a sawmill at Bingham Chute - a marked location which can still be found today on Highway 534.
Although it started as a small wood-exporting village in the township of South Himsworth, Powassan quickly grew to something much bigger.
In 1886, the railroad was built through Powassan as a passageway from Gravenhurst to Nipissing Junction. This caused the population to shift from the river towards the train tracks, creating a new town center which still exists today.
Present-day Main Street was a divider and it separated Powassan into two lots which were granted to individuals by the queen. Lot 15 on the east side of Main St. was granted to Christopher Armstrong. Lot 16 on the west side of Main St. was granted to William Faulkner Clark.
IN November of 1904, it was declared that as of January 1905, Powassan would become its own municipality. Starting in 1905, W.H. Stuart - the first Mayor - Powassan began to boom and many innovations happened:
In 1906, electricity came to Powassan and for $14/year you could power 32 lights.
In 1908, Bell telephone was introduced in Powassan.
The first car arrived in Powassan in 1912. The Ford was owned by A.W. Tingey.
In 1916, motion pictures made their way to town with showings at town hall daily.